images-12.jpegimages-21.jpegimages-31.jpegimages-41.jpegimages2.jpeg

1. Kylie Minogue – 2 Hearts: I’m reserving ‘X’ to be the best album of 2008, since it doesn’t get released in the US until then. However this song was everything I never hoped it would be. Kylie known for her cutting edge dance-pop, kicked off her new project with a glam rock dancefloor stomper, that the first time I heard it I thought,
what the fuck? And then every time since that I’ve been singing and rocking (and WOOing) along.
2. Rihanna – Umbrella: This song had 1 of the most unique vibes for any R & B/pop song this year. With all the guitars and noise, it was either gonna tank miserably, or become unescapable. Too bad she followed it up with ‘Shut Up & Drive’.
3. Beyonce – Get Me Bodied: I’m a sucker for a good party song. And this isn’t just a good party track, it’s 1 of the best ever.
4. Justin Timberlake – What Goes Around…: I loved this songs for personal reasons, but also because it’s 1 of the most well-crafted breakup anthems ever. And then when the interlude kicks in about 4 minutes into it… chills down my spine!!
5. Timbaland – The Way I Are: Poor grammar choices aside, Timbo KILLED it with this 1. It’s like a bunch of robots had a dance party in the middle of the hood. And this was the soundtrack.
6. M.I.A – Boyz: This song works me on so many levels. World music meets hip-hop meets gay runway meets Baltimore club meets dance. Then they have an orgy. And this song is the baby.
7. Kanye West – Stronger: Out of nowhere, everyone’s favorite rapper tapped an unlikely host for a sample. Daft Punk. The results? MAGIC!
8. Amy Winehouse – Rehab: The first 10,000 times I heard it, it was cute, unique, & catchy. And then radio picked it up. And it’s taken me months to enjoy the song again.
9. Tori Amos – Bouncing Off Clouds: Despite my mixed feelings on the album, this song is a career highlight for the crazy redhead I love so much. If only some remixes were cut for this song, it could have reached even higher heights.
10. Eve – Tambourine: The album may never get released at this point, & apparently this song underperformed? Apparently the powers that be don’t live in Baltimore, because everyone I know loves this song, & barely an hour went by without it being on the radio.
11. Bjork – Earth Intruders: This album underwhelmed me too, but this single was a true return to her pop/dance roots for Bjork. More beats Bjork, please!?
12. Diddy – Last Night: Diddy has been kind of a laughing stock in my book for a while, but this song was a total slam dunk. Keyshia on the hook, and then Lil’ Kim on the remix… reunited and it feels so GOOD!
13. Pink – U + Ur Hand: I thought for sure her last album was dead in the water, and then radio picked up this song, and Pink’s career was resuscitated. Cuz who can’t relate to a sassy kiss-off song!?
14. Gym Class Heroes – Clothes Off!: I’m a sucker for a good 80’s sample. And a fun party song.
15. Sophie Ellis-Bextor – Catch You: This lady makes music that someone how is classy, yet still makes you want to dance. Welcome back, dear!
16. Maroon 5 – Makes Me Wonder: I doubted if they’re return would be successful, then their lead single was upbeat, and hearkened to excellent 80’s pop-rock. And Adam is cute. Good combo!
17. Keyshia Cole with Missy Elliott & Lil’ Kim – Let It Go: As if the team-up of these 3 couldn’t be great enough, the song is based around a BIG hook. Hell yeah!!
18. Mason vs. Princess Superstar – Perfect Exceeder: The best mash-ups make the 2 songs sound like they were made for each other. And my ears were made for this single!
19. Tracey Thorn – Grand Canyon: One of the most gorgeous songs of the year. Even the remixes didn’t hurt the song at all. Tracey, everybody loves YOU here!
20. Armand Van Helden with Fat Joe – Touch Your Toes: Wouldn’t expect Fat Joe to pop up on a dance song. Wouldn’t expect to love a song this repetitive. Skip the radio edit and go straight for the LP version!
images-9.jpegimages-8.jpegimages-8.jpegimages-5.jpegimages-6.jpegimages-7.jpeg

Honorable Mentions:
Lil’ Mama – Lip Gloss, Fall Out Boy – Thnks fr the mmrs, Common & Lily Allen – Drivin’ Me Wild, Nelly Furtado – Do It, The Gossip – Listen Up, JoJo – Anything, Kelly Rowland – Like This, Lily Allen – LDN, Joss Stone – Put Your Hands On Me

