images1.jpegimages-3.jpegimages-2.jpegimages-11.jpeg

1. Timbaland – Shock Value
I know, how cliche, but seriously, ‘The Way I Are’ is 1 of the best songs I’ve heard all year, & the album continueds in a bouncey & fun direction, while borrowing bits of rock, rap, R & B, pop, and dance to make the most diverse album of the year.
2. Lily Allen – Alright Still
While the rest of the world was heralding the British Invasion of Amy Winehouse, I grew more & more addicted to Lily Allen, who’s album showcased the lyrics of the party girl next door, always ready for some fun, without going overboard. I would totally hang out with this chick!
3. Spring Awakening OBCR
A few years ago I would have said that cast recording would never make my best of list, but with Duncan Sheik at the helm, & these beautiful young voices of Broadway, I may just become a ‘Show Queen’ yet.
4. The Gossip – Standing In The Way of Control
So this album was out well before 2007, but 2007 was the year that the Gossip exploded. Their awesome sets on the True Colors Tour hopefully set the stage for them to conquer the world with their next album!
5. MIA – Kala
MIA is absolutely sick. In a good way. Her album can barely be defined, without calling it world music, which calls to mind instrumental Enya BS. So I guess a better way is to say that MIA took the world to her own crazy house party.
6. Tracey Thorn – Out of The Woods
Gorgeous. Utterly gorgeous. Her voice is haunting & endearing. And Grand Canyon could be one of the bestsongs ever.
7. Kanye West – Graduation
Kanye knocks it out of the park. Ripping off electronic music & refusing to go the typical rap route of less acclaimed rap acts, Mr. West keeps the game fresh & inspired. Take note 50… evolve or retire!
8. Amy Winehouse – Back to Black
Ok, so I got a little tired of her by the end of summer, but she is still 1 of the most unique voices of the year, & every track on this disc is excellent. Hopefully she can get her shit together and turn out some more great music, without allt he tabloid crap.
9. Bjork – Volta
A grower, not a shower. And I hate saying that about someone I’ve loved for over a decade, but she really needs another cook in her kitchen to get her to dial it back on the crazy and beef it up on the beats.Still, it was great to hear the ice goddess return to a more pop direction.
10. Tori Amos – American Doll Posse
I’ve loved Tori forever & her new album was great, for a concept album. Not her best, & about 5 tracks too long. If she had shaved off a few and left them in b-side land, a muchmore solid album would be out there, and it may have been higher on my list.
The rest:
Mika – Life In Cartoon Motion (I showed up late to Mika’s party, but he had a solid album except for 2 songs); Armand Van Helden- Ghettoblaster (Don’t let the singles fool you, this album is a huge throwback to the super-fun early days of house); Common – Finding Forever (I had hoped this one would be a little more consistent, but he still has amazing lyrics); Seal – System (An excellent album, a true fusion of pop and dance); Fall Out Boy – Infinity on High (Even if I’m not 15 year old emo kid, I still dug this disc!)

