ModFab beat me to the bunch about the announcement of the VMA nominees last night. But I would be remiss if I didn’t get all goggly-eyed & over-analytical about the Grammy’s red-headed stepchild of an award show. So here’s my thoughts.

Before I get into the category breakdown, here’s some basic thoughts: Are the VMA’s now obsolete since MTV doesn’t show videos anymore? Was Amy Winehouse’s performance on this summer’s MTV Movie Awards so good that she should come back & drunkenly mumble through ‘Rehab’ all over again?

And now onto the categories, and since the winners are unpredictably predictable, I’m just going for my picks.:

Best Group:
Fall Out Boy
Gym Class Heroes
Linkin Park
Maroon 5
White Stripes
I hate Linkin Park, so they’re easy to leave out. The White Stripes are a little too out there, so I really feel like Maroon 5 & Fall Out Boy are the real contenders. Gym Class Heroes, the underdogs, are my pick, tho!

Female Artist:
Beyonce
Fergie
Nelly Furtado
Rihanna
Amy Winehouse
Um… how did they leave out Gwen Stefani? How? I think they overdid it putting Winehouse in here, where Stefani belongs. I like all the girls in here, but Beyonce OWNS this category. Sorry ladies, tho I wouldn’t be too surprised if Rihanna took it by surprise.

Male Artist:
Akon
Robin Thicke
T.I.
Justin Timberlake
Kanye West
Just like Beyonce owns the female category, this award should go to no one besides Justin. His videos are great, & deserve the attention. It’s nice that they threw the other cats a bone, but really, no comparison to JT’s efforts!

Monster Single of the Year:
Daughty ‘Home’ – Plain White T’s ‘Hey There Delilah’ – Shop Boyz ‘Party Like a Rock Star’ – T-Pain ‘Buy U a Drank’
Fall Out Boy’Thnks Fr Th Mmrs’
Avril Lavigne ‘Girlfriend’
Lil’ Mama ‘Lip Gloss’
Mims ‘This Is Why I’m Hot’
Rihanna ‘Umbrella’
Timbaland ‘The Way I Are’
The first 4 songs are italicized because they’re total bunk. Waste of airplay. Mims would almost fit in that category, but since ModFab hasn’t heard of him, I decided to throw him a bone. This category is a tough call, because the songs are all decent, but who knows what the qualifications are. So my vote goes to either Rihanna or Timbaland, since either was 1 of the most unique songs out there.

Earth-Shattering Collabo:
Akon & Eminem ‘Smack That’
Beyonce & Shakira ‘Beautiful Liar’
Gwen Stefani & Akon ‘The Sweet Escape’
Justin Timberlake & Timbaland ‘SexyBack’
U2 & Green Day ‘Saints Are Coming’
Since I’ve never heard the U2/GD track, we’ll ignore that one. I say either JT or Gwen. Eminem makes my heart hurt, and I really think a song combining the talents of Beyonce & Shakira could have turned out much better. Gwen or JT

Video of the Year:
Beyonce ‘Irreplaceable’
Justice ‘DANCE’
Rihanna ‘Umbrella’
Justin Timberlake ‘What Goes Around…Comes Around’

Kanye West ‘Stronger’
Amy Winehouse ‘Rehab’
All talented people with songs I enjoyed. I have to say JT gets it. Th video was 10 minutes long and had a plot. None of the others had a plot. That wins in my book. Justice had a good flick too, with cool effects, but not quite cool enough to win in my opinion. Rihanna & Amy put out 2 of the most groundbreaking singles of 2007, Rihanna’s video featured hot chorography and pretty pictures… and Amy’s… was… well-shot, but pretty low-key (almost dull). I thought Irreplaceable was cute, in a condensed ‘Waiting to Exhale’ kind of way, but nothing groundbreaking. Kanye’s song was awesome, but where the sample was nicked from Daft Punk, I think the video concept was nicked from 2 or 3 Janet videos. To review, Justin should win, Justice would be a non-disappointing dark horse though.

And here is the category you get to vote on: Best New Artist.

Lily Allen
Amy Winehouse
Gym Class Heroes
Carrie Underwood
Peter Bjorn & John
I hate to say this, but I think Carrie Underwood might win it, just cuz she’s the biggest ‘name’. I hate her tho. I’m voting for Lily Allen, the underdog!! I think Wine-o and GCH have a chance… but who knows how these kids vote nowadays!?

And with ‘all those categories’ the 3 technical categories – Editing, Choreography, & Director are not going to be presented on air. Cuz of time restraints. Right.

Anyway, the show is on Sunday, September 9th, at 9 pm, broadcast live from Vegas. So we know what I’m doing that night!!!

