Alright, lemme try and offer up a review of one of the best concert experiences this year. Am I up to the task? I had the extreme pleasure of attending the Columbia, MD stop of the 2007 True Colors tour, & here’s what I thought:

Margaret Cho
What can I say about Margaret Cho, her comedic timing and sense of humor are sublime. Every time I see her I am in stitches. And though her last tour was a little too political for my tastes, she seemed to do a much better job today blending the politics with the comedy, & it didn’t sound nearly as preachy. I also thought that it was ingenious to have a comedian come out & fill the time between acts. Never a dull moment for what could have been a long day!

The Gossip
(Listen Up – MSTRKRFT QB Edit)
I am now in LOVE with the Gossip!!! Their frontwoman, Beth Ditto, is beyond fierce & her voice is incredible. The set was quick, & I could totally watch them for 2 hours. They were thrilled to be there, though by the end of their 30 minute set, Beth was happy to be leaving the stage for fear of heat stroke (who can blame her). Their run on the tour is over now, but if your in Europe, they are touring their throughout the summer. Check them out. So awesome!!

The Dresden Dolls
(Coin-Operated Boy)
I had not heard their music prior to today, but I’m impressed. Just a chick on keyboards & a guy on drums, but they made quite a bit of noise. I would compare their sound to a happy marriage of Imogen Heap & the Scissor Sisters. I would check them out again!

Rufus Wainwright
(Going To A Town)
Okay, gays, don’t kill me; but I’m not in love with Rufus. He was a special add-on for this date, & actually wasn’t terrible with a full band behind him. I’d seen him open for Tori Amos twice a few years back & wasn’t impressed. I think it’s his voice. He’s just too nasal for me, which is a shame, because I think he’s an interesting storyteller, and his lyrics are great. I just can’t get past the voice. However all was redeemed when none other than Cyndi-fucking-Lauper came out for a duet on the last song of his set. Gorgeous!

Debbie Harry
(The Jam Was Moving)
I’ve heard a lot of complaints about Debbie being the dullest act on the tour. Well, dammit, the woman is an icon. She could walk out & read the phone book, & it’s still DEBBIE HARRY, people! Honestly though, her set wasn’t bad. She sang nary a Blondie song, & her solo hits aren’t that well known, but her new material was pretty good, & she seemed to be really enjoying herself! Love her, but miss the Blondie tunes. Her outfit also looked a little bit Golden Girls meet the Karate Kid, but she is like… 100 years old & still looks gorgeous.

Rosie O’Donnell
This is what Rosie needs to be doing. After a while of her being an outspoken personality, & having a tumultous stint on the View, I’ve been saying for months that Rosie just needs to do comedy for a while. And you know what, she was funny. I’ve missed funny Rosie, & it was great to have her back. And you could tell that she was really happy to be with us!

Erasure
(I Could Fall In Love With You (Monteverde Radio Mix))
Wow. All I can say! The boys did a great job of mixing new stuff & hits, & put on an amazing show. I have tremendous respect for a dance act that comes on with machines instead of a band (that never sounds right!) & can sound just like (or better than) their records. Everyone should check out Erasure at some point.

Cyndi Lauper
(Shine (Live At Last DVD Version))
This was my 3rd time seeing Cyndi, & believe me when I say she is one of the greatest performers of our time. Her voice is still incredible, & she puts on a show like no other. I wished she didn’t have a such a short set, but she really had some great song choices. The new material sounds great, & of course, she’ll never get away without performing ‘Girls Just Wanna Have Fun’. She even had a guest drummer in Rosie O’Donnell for her last 2 songs. The show closed with Cyndi being joined by all of the days performers (except for Debbie & Rufus) for a rocking cover of ABBA’s ‘Take A Chance on Me’ & then a touching sing-along version of ‘True Colors’. You could hear the whole place singing along & it was really beautiful. The amount os respect for Cyndi from the crowd and from the other performers was astonishing! A lovely end to a lovely show!

All in all, it was a fantastic day of music & friendship & great vibes. I was thrilled to be joined by my BFF Shanty (go check out her review too) & 2 other friends (& we got to bump into Queering the Apparatus, just a day before his b-day!!), & I truly hope that they can pull this tour off again next year. My only complaint is that I wish it could have been longer, but it really was an awesome experience. Some other highlights included a video preview for Margaret’s new movie ‘Bam Bam & Celeste’ out later this summer, an HRC video set to Cyndi’s acoustic version of ‘All Through The Night’ to spotlight the need for inclusion of LGBT people into the hate crimes act, & Margaret & another comedienne’s skit about a married lesbian couple & their hysterical rap song ‘My Puss’.

I think everyone did an amazing job of promoting the party vibe with a sprinkling of politics, just so we knew why so many people were gathered together in the spirit of celebration & promoting gay rights. Here’s looking forward to True Colors 2008, & memories of an excellent summer show. Check it out if you still have a chance!!

