Here’s the big 4. Well bigger 4… well… here’s the rest of the one’s I’m really interested in. Tomorrow, I’ll talk about who’s performing and who got robbed this year!

Best New Artist
James Blunt
Corinne Bailey Rae
Carrie Underwood
Chris Brown
Imogen Heap

James Blunt is going to win and that is a DAMN shame. Hopefully it will be the kiss of death like it has been for many other careers… but I doubt it. It if were up to me, Imogen Heap would win. Though she’s not really that new (her debut album flopped in 1998, and she’s half of the band Frou Frou), her album is one of the best albums ever. Her blend of electonic and alt-rock is amazing. SHe’s always going to pass under the radar, but if I can urge anything on people, check out this album! In other news, I’m surprised Chris Brown got the nomination, instead of Ne-Yo, since Ne-Yo had bogger songs and is also a writer/producer. Hmmm. Carrie Underwood deserves nothing, and Corinne is kinda ho-hum in my opinion.

Record Of The Year
You’re Beautiful – James Blunt
Crazy – Gnarls Barkley
Be Without You – Mary J. Blige
Put Your Records On – Corinne Bailey Rae
Not Ready To Make Nice – Dixie Chicks

Wow. I really like all of these songs except ‘You’re Beautiful’, which is probably going to win it! The Chicks made an awesome ass-kicking record, and it would be their just desserts to win this award for it. The British chick made an excellent chill-out record, that was so fresh to the US music scene. The soul diva lived up to expectations with a terrific lead single. Gnarls made the sickest rap-pop-rock-electronic-r&b-soul jam ever. And then the British poster boy for the Grammy’s made some whiney-ass saccahrine ballad. Boo!

Song of The Year (this one goes to the songwriter)
You’re Beautiful (James Blunt)
Jesus Take The Wheel (Carrie Underwood)
Be Without You (Mary J. Blige)
Put Your Records On (Corinne Bailey Rae)
Not Ready To Make Nice (Dixie Chicks)

Tough call. They seem to favor songwriters who actually sing the song… so that probably takes out ‘Jesus Take The Wheel’… fine by me… as it was an annoying song (surprising, as much as I love Jesus). Barring that, it could be a battle between the Grammy poster children, and hopefully Mary J can give James Blunt the bitchslap he deserves. I think the Dixie Chicks also have good chances, but as great as Corinne’s song was… I think she’s too new to register for most people.

Album of The Year
Dixie Chicks – Taking The Long Way
Gnarls Barkley – St. Elsewhere
Justin Timberlake – FutureSex/LoveSounds
John Mayer – Continuum
Red Hot Chilli Peppers – Stadium Arcadium

My money’s on the Dixie Chicks. I think they may be able to edge ahaead with an album where they not only blazed new territory for themselves as musicians, but also took total creative control over their work. I think the Chilli Peppers also delivered a strong album, that could give them some competition. Gnarls is too new, Justin and John have slim chances, Justin because of the direction of his album, and John…. well his album was dull!

So those are all my picks. I pretty much ignored rock and rap, since I only know a couple of the nominees, and then all the other more dense categories like latin, polka, etc. Let me know what you think… and I can’t wait to see how right or wrong I was.

