Today I’m taking a look at the Pop category. It’s pretty funny to see how this category has spread out and keeps snagging more of a variety!

Best Pop Vocal Album
James Blunt – Back To Bedlam
Christina Aguilera – Back To Basics
John Mayer – Continuum
Justin Timberlake – FutureSex/LoveSounds
Elvis Costello & Allen Touissant – River In Reverse

I dunno that these were the best of whats out there this year, but they’re not bad. I think James Blunt will win. For some reason I’m pegging him as the Grammy golden boy this year, he’s nominated all over the place, and he’s hyped all to shit. I don’t necessarily agree. ‘You’re Beautiful’ was sweet the first 4 times, and the following 5 million times, I’m totally over it. I think Elvis Costello and Allen Touisasant should win. I haven’t even listened to the whole thing, but between samples on iTunes, and the respectability of the project, it vastly beats out the competition of a young diva’s bloated (but decent) double album, and dancey yet street album by a young male diva, or the 3rd installment of the young guitar boy with an album nowhere near as good as his last.

Best Female Pop Performance
Sheryl Crow – You Can Close Your Eyes
Natasha Bedingfield – Unwritten
KT Tunstall – Black Horse & Cherry Tree
Pink – Stupid Girls
Christina Aguilera – Ain’t No Other Man

I think Sheryl Crow will win it. She has the Grammy darling & cancer survivor things in her favor. Not that I dislike Sheryl, or am discounting a fight with cancer or a successful career, but her last album didn’t do it for me, and neither did this song. Any of the other girls made a much beetr impact on pop music this year – KT with her rhythmic acoustic-ness, Natasha with her solid and untainted pop, Pink with a great pop song with a rare satirical meaning, or Xtina with a terrific blending of old and new with danceability. Sorry Sheryl, I’m proud and happy for you, but this one isn’t yours.

Best Male Pop Vocal Performance
Paul McCartney – Jenny Wren
John Mayer – Waiting on The World To Change
Daniel Powter – Bad Day
John Legend – Save Room
James Blunt – You’re Beautiful

This one’s tough. Everyone nominated but Daniel Powter has an edge on this one. Paul McCartney has the old-boy musical legacy going for him. James Blunt could be the Grammy darling this year. And John Mayer & John Legend are both Grammy darlings, who both (despite my disregard for the rest of Mayer’s album) are nominated for brilliant singles that were fresher than most other things on the radio this year. My money’s on Sir Paul, but my fingers are crossed for either of the John’s.

Best Pop Performance by a Duo or Group
The Fray – Over My Head (Cable Car)
Pussycat Dolls – Stickwitu
Black Eyed Peas – My Humps
Keane – Is It Any Wonder
Death Cab For Cutie – I Will Follow You Into The Dark

My pick and I think the powers that be will pick The Fray. They’re new, but it was agreat song. I don’t know how in the hell the Pussycat Dolls got nominated for that crap-ass ballad, I think that Keane & Death Cab are a little too underground for most pallates, and BEP have a chance, but in my opinion, it doesn’t beat The Fray.

Best Pop Collaboration
Sheryl Crow & Sting – Always On Your Side
Mary J. Blige & U2 – One
Shakira & Wyclef – Hips Don’t Lie
Nelly Furtado & Timbaland – Promiscuous
Tony Bennett & Stevie Wonder – For Once In My Life

I think Tony & Stevie or Sheryl & Sting have the best chances. If it were up to me, it would be MJB & U2. Mary absolutely KILLS it on that song. I wouldn’t think of it as a song for the reigning hip-hop diva to cover, but damn. I wouldn’t mind Nelly & Tim winning since I think it’s a CRIME that she wasn’t nominated for Best Pop Vocal Album. If Shakira wins it… I’ll be pissed, since we know the song is a feeble re-hash of an older Wyclef song. Grammy’s should not be given out for karaoke!

