Last night I had the pleasure of watching ‘Cut’, a 2000 Australian slasher flick. The main/only reason I rented it was because it featured Kylie Minogue. She had a very brief role, as a bitchy movie director, who got chopped up within the first 20 minutes of the film. However as a bitch, she was fabulous. Molly Ringwald was the “star” of the show, and even though it’s 15 years past her 80’s prime, she delivered a pretty good performance. She had some really biting lines, in between scenes of college co-eds getting offed in various ways. The storyline was a little predictable, but not totally unwatchable. I was expecting it to be a copy of ‘Scream’, but despite their simliarites, they are in fact 2 different movies. My biggest gripe is that all the deaths appeared just off camera, I assume to save some FX money, so you see then knife or whatever method of death is available, get close enough to the victim to hurt, and then they move the camera to a wall or a window and you get to see a nice fake splash of blood.
Not the best scary movie by any means, but not unwatchable either. Kylie was fabulous but brief, and Molly Ringwald was very entertaining. Don’t rush out and get it… but it’ll pass the time if you’re snowed in.

(PS… I’m just trying out some movie reviews on the blog, fell free to let me know if you think I should keep it up or stop while I’m ahead)

