MUSIC MEME

The Rules
Put your iTunes (or the like) on random. Post lyrics from the first songs that play. Post it on your blog & let everyone guess what song & artist the lyrics are from. When a song is guessed correctly, strike out the lyrics & post the title in bold. Looking the lyrics up on any search engine is cheating!!
So, if you know the song – leave your guess in a comment. If you’re right, I’ll post your name (or link). Enjoy!

The Songs

1. “down to the disco everything stops walking in solo everyone drops hey summer madness totally cool my heart starts racing when I see you I’m nurning up baby I’m burning up can you feel it burning my pulse is pumping my heart may burst if you drink me up I’m gonna quench your thirstBurning Up – Kylie Minogue ***ShannonH

2. “some boys kiss me some boys hug me I think they’re o.k. if they dont give me proper credit I just walk away they can beg and they can plead but they cant see the light thats right cause the boy with the cold hard cash is always mister right, cause we are living in a material world & I am a material girl you know that we are living in a material world I am a material girlMaterial Girl – Madonna ***CrystalG

3. “my face to the sky dreaming about just how high I could go and I’ll know when I finally get there taking off my glasses sun pokes through my lashes & somehow I know theres a time for every star to shine everybody got their something everybody got their something make you smile like an itty bitty child” Everybody Got Their Something – Nikka Costa

4. “its the dark night of my soul & temptations taking hold but through the pain & the suffering through the heartache & trembling I feel loved I feel loved as the darkness closes in in my head I hear whispering questioning & beckoning but I’m not taken in I feel loved I feel lovedI Feel Loved – Depeche Mode ***ShannonH

5. “oh Lord wont you buy me a Mercedes Benz? my friends all drive Porsches I must make amends worked hard all my lifetime no help from my friends so Lord wont you buy me a Mercedes Benz? oh Lord wont you buy me a color tv? dialing for dollars is trying to find me I wait for delivery each day until three so oh Lord wont you buy me a color tv?Mercedes Benz – Janis Joplin ***CrystalG

6. “black strap molasses, you’re my orange blossom honey bear bring me Versace blue jeans & black designer underwear we’ll dress up like the disco-dancing jet set in Milan and Rome & if you’ve got some sugar for me sugar daddy bring it home oh the thrill of control like the rush of rock & roll is the sweetest taste I’ve known oh yeah so come on sugar daddy bring it homeSugar Daddy – Hedwig & The Angry Inch ***EddieZ

7. “someone’s knockin on my kitchen door leave the wood outside what all the girls here are freezing cold leave me with your borneo I dont need much to keep me warm dont stop now what youre doing what youre doing my ugly one bring them all here hard to hide a 100 girls in your hair it wont be fair if I hate her if I ate her you can go now you’re already in there I’ll be wearing your tattoo you’re already in thereCloud On My Tongue – Tori Amos ***ShannonH

8. “clocks strikes upon the hour & the sun begins to fade still enough time to figure out how to chase my blues away I’ve done alright up til now it’s the light of day that shows me how & when the night falls loneliness calls oh I wanna dance with somebody I wanna feel the heat with somebody I wanna dance with somebody with sombody who loves meI Wanna Dance With Somebody – Whitney Houston ***CrystalG

9. “to the m-i prrr cat like a semi n****a stole my car whynt you get my give yo ass a black eye oh say bye-bye Ima give your body to the sky run through your clique n***a you pissed on trip Ima have to bust you in your lips & the whips better have a whole lotta chips cuz I aint for no n***a givin tips she’s a bitch when you say my name talk mo junk but wont look my way she’s a bitch see I got more cheese so back on up while I roll up my sleevesShe’s A Bitch – Missy Elliott ***ShannonH

10. “the tide is high but I’m holding on I’m gonna be your number one I’m not the kind of girl who gives up just like that oh no its not the things you do that tease and hurt me bad but its the way you do the things you do to me I’m not the kind of girl who gives up just like that oh no the tide is high but I’m holding onThe Tide Is High – Blondie ***ShannonH

11. “please allow me to introduce myself I’m a man of wealth & taste I’ve been around for a long long year stole many a mans soul & faith & I was round when Jesus Christ had his moment of doubt & pain made damn sure that Pilate washed his hands & sealed his fate pleased to meet you hope you guess my name but whats puzzling you is the nature of my game I stuck around St. Petersburg when I saw it was a time for a change killed the czar & his ministers Anastasia screamed in vainSympathy For The Devil – Rolling Stones ***CrystalG

12. “we’re in a room without a door & I am sure without a doubt they’re gonna wanna know how we got in here & they’re gonna wanna know how we plan to get out we better have a good explanation for all the fun that we had cuz they are coming for us baby they are going to be mad they are going to be mad at us this is my skeleton this is the skin its in that is according to light & gravityShameless – Ani DiFranco ***ShannonH

13. “I feel fine & I feel good I’m feeling like I never should whenever I get this way I just don’t know what to say why can’t we be ourselves like we were yesterday I’m not sure what this could mean I don’t think you’re what you seem I do admit to myself that if I hurt someone else then I’ll never see just what we’re meant to be every time I see you falling I get down on my knees and pray I’m waiting for that final moment you’ll say the words that I can’t sayBizarre Love Triangle – New Order ***buusmo

