MUSIC MEME
UPDATE 12/4/06 : GUESSING CLOSED… NEWIE ON THE WAY!
The Rules (in case you want to do it too!)
Step 1: Put your MP3/iTunes on random.
Step 2: Post lyrics from the first 20 songs that play.
Step 3: Post it on your blog & let everyone guess what song & artist the lyrics are from.
Step 4: When a song is guessed correctly, strike out the lyrics & post the title in bold.
Step 5: Looking the lyrics up on Google (or any other search engine) is cheating!!
So, if you know the song – leave your guess in a comment. If you’re right, I’ll post your name (or link). Enjoy!

The Songs

1. “airplanes take you away again are you flying above where we live then I look up a glare in my eyes are you having regrets about last night I’m not but I like rivers that rush in so then I dove in is there trouble ahead for you the acrobat I won’t push you unless you have a net you say the word you know I will find you or if you need some time I don’t mind I don’t hold on to the tail of your kiteSleeps With Butterflies – Tori Amos ***ShannonH

2. “I kinda always knew I’d end up your ex-girlfriend I kinda always knew I’d end up your ex-girlfriend I kinda always knew I’d end up your ex-girlfriend I hope I hold a special place with the rest of them & you know it makes me sick to be on that list but I shoulda thought of that before we kissed you say you’re gonna burn before you’re mellow I’ll be the one to burn you why’d ya have to go & pick me when you knew that we were different completelyEx-Girlfriend – No Doubt ***ShannonH

3. “there’s only so much you can learn in one place the more that I wait the more time that I waste I haven’t got much time to waste it’s time to make my way I’m not afraid of what I’ll face but I’m afraid to stay I’m going down my own road & I can make it alone I’ll work & I’ll fight till I find a place of my own are you ready to jump get ready to jump don’t ever look backJump – Madonna ***rYan

4. “you from New York you are so relevant you reduce me to cosmic tears luminous moreso than most anyone unapologetically alive knot in my stomach & lump in my throat I love you when you dance when you freestyle in trance so pure such an expression supposed former infatuation junkie I sink 3 pointers & you wax poeticallySo Pure – Alanis Morisette ***Phillip

5. “when the earth was still flat & the clouds made of fire & mountains stretched up to the sky sometimes higher folks roamed the earth like big rolling kegs they had 2 sets of arms they had 2 sets of legs they had 2 faces peering out of 1 giant head so they could watch all around them as they talked while they read and they never knew nothing of love it was before the origin of loveOrigin of Love – Hedwig & The Angry Inch (Bmore Version) ***Phillip

6. “2 days past 18 he was waiting for the bus in his army green sat down in a booth in a cafe there gave his order to a girl with a bow in her hair he’s a little shy so she gives him a smile & he said would you mind sittin down for a while & talking to me I’m feeling a little low she said I’m off in an hour & I know where we can goTravellin’ Soldier – Dixie Chicks ***Phillip

7. “miss independent miss self-sufficient miss keep your distance no miss on her own miss almost grown miss never let a man help her off her throne so by keeping her heart protected she’d never ever feel rejected little miss apprehensive said ooh she fell in love what is the feelin takin over thinkin no one could open the door surprise its time to feel whats realMiss Independent – Kelly Clarkson ***ShannonH

8. “colour me your colour baby colour me your car colour me your colour darling I know who you are come up off your colour chart I know where you’re coming from call me on the line call me call me any anytime call me my love you can call me any day or night call me cover me with kisses baby cover me with love roll me in designer sheets I’ll never get enoughCall Me – Blondie ***ShannonH

9. “shot like an arrow through my heart thats the pain I feel I feel whenever were apart not to say that I’m in love with you but whos to say that I’m not I just know that it feels wrong when I’m away too long it makes my body hot so let me tell ya baby I’ll tell your mama I’ll tell your friends I’ll tell anyone whose heart can comprehend send it in a letter baby tell you on the phone I’m not the kinda girl who likes to be aloneMiss You Much – Janet Jackson ***Phillip

10. “in the day in the night say it all say it right you either got it or you don’t you either stand or you fall when your will is broken when it slips from your hand when there’s no time for joking there’s a hole in the plan oh you don’t mean nothing at all to me no you don’t mean nothing at all to me do you got what it takes to set me free oh you could mean everything to meSay It Right – Nelly Furtado ***rYan

11. “I never liked this apple much it always seemed too big to touch I cant remember how I found my way before she came around I tell everyone I smile just because I’ve got a city love I found it in Lydia & I cant remember life before her name she keeps a toothbrush at my place as if I had the extra space she steals my clothes to wear to work I know her hairs are on my shirts” City Love – John Mayer

12. “I wanna funk I wanna f-f-u f-u-n-k I wanna funk I wanna funk I wanna f-f-u f-u-n-k non stop dancing the bus stop to the funky music hustle pumpin the muscle blame it on the boogie remember the old days remember the O’Jays walkin in rhythm life was for livin when you cant find the music to get down & boogie all you can do is step back in time ball of confusion when nothing is new & theres nothing doin step back in time” Step Back In Time – Kylie Minogue

13. “you give me your number I call you up you act like ur pussy dont interrupt I don’t have no problem with you fucking me but I have a little problem wit you not fucking me baby you know Ima take care of you cuz you say you got my baby & I know it ain’t true is it a good thing no its bad bitch for good or worse makes you switch so I walk on over with my Cristal bitches n****z put away your pistols dirty wont be having it in this house cuz bitch i’ll cripple your styleGot Your Money – Ol’ Dirty Bastard ***Phillip

14. “I’ve been alone with you inside my mind & in my dreams I’ve kissed your lips a thousand times I sometimes see you pass outside my door hello! is it me youre looking for I can see it in your eyes I can see it in your smile you’re all I’ve ever wanted & my arms are open wide because you know just what to say & you know just what to do & I want to tell you so much I love youHello (Lionel Richie cover) – Me First & The Gimme Gimmes ***ShannonH

15. “boy Ima make you love me make you want me & Ima give you some attention tonight now follow my intuitions what you’re wishin see Ima keep you all night for a long time just start countin the ways break me off show me what you got cuz i don’t want no one minute man break me off show me what you got cuz I don’t want no one minute manOne Minute Man – Missy Elliott ***rYan

