MUSIC MEME

Update 11/27/06: Guessing closed… relaunch on the way!!!

The Rules (in case you want to do it too!)
Step 1: Put your MP3/iTunes on random.
Step 2: Post lyrics from the first 20 songs that play.
Step 3: Post it on your blog & let everyone guess what song & artist the lyrics are from.
Step 4: When a song is guessed correctly, strike out the lyrics & post the title in bold.
Step 5: Looking the lyrics up on Google (or any other search engine) is cheating!!
So, if you know the song – leave your guess in a comment. If you are right, I will post your name (or link). Have fun!

The Songs

1. “look no further look no further cruelest almost always to ourselves it musn’t get any better it’s in our hands it always was it’s in our hands well now aren’t we scaring ourselves unnecessarily aren’t we trying to hard cause it’s in our handsIt’s In Our Hands – Bjork   ***ShannonH

2. “don’t you wanna go for a ride just keep your hands inside & make the most out of life now don’t you take it for granted life is like a mean machine it made a mess outta me it left me caught between like an angry dream I was stranded & I’m steady but I’m starting to shake & I don’t know how much more I can take this is it now everybody get down this is all I can take this is how a heart breaksThis Is How A Heart Breaks – Rob Thomas   ***EddieZ

3. “every day the clock kicks off the beat little joe struggles just to get up on his feet waits in his platforms for the right train to come sipping his coffee another day has begun little joe got work for minimum wage tries to get through another dead beat day at 5 oclock he comes home to change takes him many hours just to rearrange & he works his body just to be somebody teres a woman in the mirror looking like a dream” Ballad of Cleo & Joe – Cyndi Lauper

4. “streets like a jungle so call the police following the herd down to Greece on holiday love in the 90’s is paranoid on sunny beaches take your chances looking for boys who are girls who like boys to be girls who do girls like they’re boys who do girls like they’re boys always should be someone you really loveBoys & Girls – Blur   ***EddieZ

5. “the chills that you spill up my back keep me filled with satisfaction when we’re done satisfaction of what’s to come I couldn’t ask for another no I couldn’t ask for another your groove I do deeply dig no walls only the bridge my supperdish my succotash wish I couldn’t ask for another no I couldn’t ask for anotherGroove Is In The Heart – Deee-Lite   ***EddieZ

6. “oh well imagine as I’m pacing the pews in a church corridor & I can’t help but to hear no I can’t help but to hear an exchanging of words what a beautiful wedding what a beautiful wedding says the bridesmaid to a waiter yes but what a shame what a shame the poor groomsbride is a whore I’d chime in with a haven’t you people ever heard of closing the goddam doorI Write Sins Not Tragedies – Panic At The Disco   ***CrystalG

7. “when no-one cares it’s whipping my hair it’s pulling my waist to hell with stares the sweat is dripping all over my face & no one’s there I’m the only one dancin up in this place tonight I’m here for the beat of the drum gotta get with that bass I’m up against the speaker tryna take on the music it’s like a competition wanna get in the beat I wanna get in the zone I wanna get in the zoneMe Against The Music – Britney & Madonna   ***EddieZ

8. “I’m in the phone booth it’s the one across the hall if you don’t answer I’ll just ring it off the wall I know he’s there but I just had to call don’t leave me hanging on the telephone don’t leave me hanging on the telephone I heard your mother now she’s going out the door well did she go to work or just go to the store all those things she said I told you to ignore oh why can’t we talk againHanging On The Telephone – Blondie ***ShannonH

9. “I was so high I did not recognize the fire burning in her eyes the chaos that controlled my mind whispered goodbye & she got on a plane never to return again but always in my heart songtitle has taken its toll on me she said goodbye too many times beforeThis Love – Maroon 5   ***CobyKay

10. “shes got cigarette on each arm shes got the lily-white cavity crazes shes got a carborator tied to the moon pink eyes looking to the food of the ages shes alone in the new pollution shes alone in the new pollution shes got a hand on a wheel of pain she can talk to the mangling strangers she can sleep in a fiery bog throwing troubles to the dying embers” New Pollution – Beck

11. “I’m giving you everything all that joy can bring this I swear last time that we had this conversation I decided we should be friends yeah but now were going round in circles tell me will this deja vu never end oh now you tell me that youve fallen in love well I never ever thought that would be this time you gotta take it easy throwing far too much emotions at meSay You’ll Be There – Spice Girls ***Rufuku

12. “so you wanna be a rockstar keep it going don’t stop work it while you’re on top call the cops rollercoaster riding baby up & down I love to watch you do it I just want to get close to you find out what it takes to move you feel the rhythm hit the spot getting hot all night longAll Day Long I Dream About Sex – JC Chasez ***ShannonH

13. “I’m bringin’ sexy backthem other boys they don’t know how to act I think it’s special what’s behind your back so turn around & I’ll pick up the slack dirty babe you see these shackles baby I’m your slave I’ll let you whip me if I misbehave it’s just that no 1 makes me feel this way take it to the chorus come here girl go head be gone with itSexyBack – Justin Timberlake   ***CobyKay

14. “everybody look at me me I walk in the door you start screaming come on everybody what u here for move your body around like a nympho everybody get your necks to crack around all you crazy people come on jump around I want to see you all on your knees knees you either want to be with me or be me maneater make U work hardManeater – Nelly Furtado ***ShannonH

15. ” red alert red alert it’s a catastrophe don’t worry don’t panic ain’t nothin’ goin’ on but history yeah but it’s alright don’t panic & the music keeps on playin’ on & on & the music keeps on playin on & on on and on on and on & the music keeps on playing on & on the way you shake, shake, shake, shakeRed Alert – Basement Jaxx ***ShannonH

16. “when marimba rhythms start to play dance with me make me sway like a lazy ocean hugs the shore hold me close sway me more like a flower bending in the breeze bend with me sway with ease when we dance you have a way with me stay with me sway with me other dancers may be on the floorSway – Michael Buble ***Mikee

17. “come come come into my world won’t you lift me up up high upon your love take these arms that were made for lovin & this heart that will beat for 2 take these eyes that were meant for watching over you & I’ve been such a long time waiting for someone I can call my own I’ve been chasing the life Im dreaming now Im home I need your love like night needs morningCome Into My World – Kylie Minogue   ***ShannonH

18. “and you can dance for inspiration come on I’m waiting get into the groove boy you’ve got to prove your love to me yeah get up on your feet yeah step to the beat boy what will it be music can be such a revelation dancing around you feel the sweet sensation we might be lovers if the rhythms right I hope this feeling doesn’t end tonightInto The Groove – Madonna   ***CobyKay

19. “I’m telling you loosen up my songtitle baby but you keep fronting saying what you going to do to me but I ain’t seen nothin’ typical hardly the type I fall for I like when the physical don’t leave me asking for more I’m a sexy mama who knows just how to get what I wanna what i want to do is spring this on youButtonz – Pussycat Dolls ***ShannonH

20. “if you’re not the one then why does my soul feel glad today if you’re not the one then why does my hand fit yours this way if you are not mine then why does your heart return my call if you are not mine would I have the strength to stand at all I never know what the future brings but I know you are here with me now we’ll make it through & I hope you are the one I share my life with” If You’re Not The One – Daniel Bedingfield

