MUSIC MEME

 UPDATE 10/23/2006: Guessing is closed. Only 2 songs that had y’all stumped, so congrats people. Newie on the way! 

The Rules (in case you want to do it too!)
Step 1: Put your iPod/MP3 player or iTunes on random.
Step 2: Post the first line(s) from the first 20 songs that play, no matter how embarrassing the song.
Step 3: Post it on your blog and let everyone guess what song and artist the lines come from.
Step 4: Strike out the songs when someone guesses correctly & post the title in bold after the stricken song.
Step 5: Looking the lyrics up on Google or any other search engine is cheating! Please play nice!
Also, if you know the song – leave your guess in a comment, if you are right, I will post your name (or link if you prefer). Have fun!

The Songs

1. “my grandma & your grandma were sittin by the fire my grandma told your grandma I’m gonna set your flag on fire talkin bout hey now hey now iko iko un-day jock-a-mo fee-na ah-na-nay jock-a-mo fee-na-nay look at my king all dressed in red iko iko un-dayIko Iko by Cyndi Lauper   ***ShannonH

2. “very superstitious writings on the wall very superstitious ladders bout to fall 13 month old baby broke the lookin glass 7 years of bad luck the good things in your past when you believe in things that you don’t understand then you suffer superstition ain’t the waySuperstition by Stevie Wonder ***ShannonH  & ***CrystalG

3. “she’s the kinda girl you wanna marry the kinda girl you walk the whole earth for put her on your back & just carry her attitude is hotter than the earth’s core when she’s around nothing else matters untouchable she’s got her own forcefield sooner or later someone will get at her if I don’t someone else will wanna love you girl wanna love you girl wanna love youWanna Love You Girl – Robin Thicke

4. “I know its just a drawer of photographs they’re ex-girlfriends I try to remember that I don’t want to look but I’m already hooked on jealousy jealousy I can’t believe you had a life before me I cant believe they let you run around free just putting your body wherever it seemed like a good idea what a good ideaJealousy – Liz Phair   ***ShannonH

5. “forgiveness is more than saying sorry forgiveness means accepting peoples flaws to forgive is divine so lets have a glass of wine & have make up sex until the end of time time time forgiveness does not mean compromising lets forgive & forget & solve this African debt just like the chesire catForgiveness – Anna Faris (as Samantha James from ‘Just Friends’)   ***ShannonH

6. “little girl with the press & curl age 8 I got a Jheri curl 13 I got a relaxer I was a source of so much laughter at 15 when it all broke off 18 & wen all natural February 2002 I went and did what I had to doI Am Not My Hair – India Arie  ***ModFab

7. “in a coffee shop in a city which is every coffee shop in every city on a day which is every day I picked up a magazine which is every magazine read a story & then forgot it right away they say goldfish have no memory I guess their lives are much like mine and the little plastic castle is a surprise every timeLittle Plastic Castle – Ani DiFranco   ***ShannonH

8. “I left my heart in San Fransisco it’s at some motherfucking disco the people there where dancin on it & that’s including Miss Matronic yeah if music is the victim then so am I of lovin & cheatin the snake gonna bite I beg & I scream & I cuss & I cry if music is the victim then so am IMusic Is The Victim – Scissor Sisters   ***ModFab

9. “deep in the bosom of the gentle night is where I search for the light pick up my pen & start to write I struggle a fight dark forces in the clear moonlight without fear insomnia I can’t get no sleep I used to worry thought I was going mad in a hurry getting stressed making excess mess in darkness” Insomnia – Faithless

10. “we were at a party his ear lobe fell in the deep someone reached in & grabbed it it was a rocklobster we were at the beach everybody had matching towels somebody went under a dock & there they saw a rock it wasn’t a rock it was a rock lobster motion in the ocean ooo woo his air hose broke ooo wooRock Lobster – The B-52’s   ***ModFab

11. “I could wait all night & day to go to a party sit down & wait give my request to the DJ cause my song he’s gotta play & when I hear that beat I get my body up out my seat I grab a guy and move my feet he’s playin my song play come on play that song play it all night long just turn it up & turn me onPlay – J.Lo   ***ShannonH

12. “on nights like this when the world’s a bit amiss & the lights go down across the trailer park I get down I feel had I feel on the verge of going mad & then it’s time to punch the clock I put on some make-up and turn up the tape deck and pull the wig down on my headWig In A Box – Hedwig & The Angry Inch (Baltimore Recording)   ***Philip

13. “vibe so right wonder what they’re ready for valet baby heres the keys were about to step inside skip all the drinks head to the floor makin my way in thats for sure my bodys takin over & I want some more I’ll be anticipating this is our song they’re playing I wanna rock with you you’re feelin this right lets do this tonightAnticipating – Britney Spears   ***Ryan

14. “I’ve had so many lives since I was a child & I realize how many times I’ve died I’m not that kind of guy sometimes I feel shy I think I can fly closer to the sky no one’s telling you how to live you’re life but it’s a setup until you’re fed up this world is not so kind people trap your mind it’s so hard to find someone to admireNobody Knows Me – Madonna   ***Ryan

15. “I wonder if I take you home would you still be in love baby in love baby girl you know you got me got me wit your pistol shot me shot me & I’m here helplessly in love & nothing can stop me you can’t stop me once I started you can’t return me once you bought it I come & baby don’t got it I come & baby don’t got it so lets be about itDon’t Phunk With My Heart – Black Eyed Peas   ***CrystalG

16. “where are we what the hell is going on the dust has only just begun to fall crop circles in the carpet sinking feeling spin me round again & rub my eyes this can’t be happening when busy streets a mess with people would stop to hold their heads heavy”  Hide & Seek – Imogen Heap    ***ShannonH

17. “here’s how it goes you & me up & down at this time we’ll get right where to fight cause love is something you cant shake when it breaks all it takes is some trying if you feel like leaving I’m not gonna make you stay soon youll be finding you can run you can hide but you can’t escape my loveEscape – Enrique Iglesias   ***Ryan

18. “oh make me over I’m all I want to be a walking study in demonology hey so glad you could make it yeah now you really made it hey so glad you could make it now oh look at my face my name is might have been my name is never was my names forgottenCelebrity Skin – Hole   ***Damion

19. “she was a january girl she never let on how insane it was in that tiny kinda scary house by the woods by the woods by the woods black dove black dove you’re not a helicopter you’re not a cop out either honey black dove black dove you don’t need a space ship they don’t know you’ve already livedBlack Dove (January) – Tori Amos   ***ShannonH

20. “I got my head checked by a jumbo jet it wasnt easy but nothing is no when I feel heavy metal & I’m pins & I’m needles well I lie & I’m easy all of the time but I’m never sure when I need you pleased to meet you I got my head done when I was young it’s not my problem it’s not my problem  Song 2 – Blur   *** ModFab

