MUSIC MEME

UPDATE 9/22/06 – Gusssing is closed. 17 this week… I am so proud of you!!!

The Rules (in case you want to do it too!)
Step 1: Put your iPod/MP3 player/iTunes/etc. on random.
Step 2: Post the first line(s) from the first 20 songs that play, no matter how embarrassing the song.
Step 3: Post it on your blog and let everyone guess what song and artist the lines come from.
Step 4: Strike out the songs when someone guesses correctly & post the title in bold after the stricken song.
Step 5: Looking the lyrics up on Google or any other search engine is cheating! Please play nice!
Also, if you know the song – leave your guess in a comment, if you are right, I will post your name (or link if you prefer). Have fun!

The Songs

1. “you lost your reputation on a woman you didn’t understand or care to know you get your education from your lovers but now there’s just no place for you to go it doesn’t pay to be a runaway lover it doesn’t pay to give away what you lack you’ll never get your money back” Runaway Lover – Madonna ***Ryan

2. “I make it alone when love is gone still you made your mark here in my heart songtitle leave you love to yesterday what more can your love do for me when will love be through with me I follow the night can’t stand the light when will I begin my life again one day I’ll fly away leave you love to yesterday” One Day I’ll Fly Away – Lalah Hathaway

3. “on that sunny day didn’t know I’d meet such a beautiful girl walking down the street seen those bright brown eyes with tears coming down she deserves a crown but where is it now mama listen senorita I feel for you you deal with things that you don’t have to” Senorita – Justin Timberlake ***Ryan

4. “don’t look at me every day is so wonderful & suddenly it’s hard to breathe now & then I get insecure from all the fame I’m so ashamed I am beautiful no matter what they say words can’t bring me down I am beautiful in every single way yes words cant bring me down” Beautiful – Christina Aguilera ***Ryan

5. “goodbye Norma Jean though I never knew you at all you had the grace to hold yourself while those around you crawled they crawled out of the woodwork & they whispered into your brain they set you on the treadmill & they made you change your name & it seems to me you lived your life like a candle in the wind never knowing who to cling to when the rain set in” Candle In The Wind – Elton John ***EddieZ

6. “so don’t give me respect don’t give me a piece of your precious-ness flaunt all she’s got in our old neighbourhood I’m sure shell make a few friends even the rain bows down let us pray as you cock-cock-cock your mane no cigarettes only peeled havanas for you I can be cruel I don’t know why why cant my ba.ll.oo.n stay up in a perfectly windy sky I can be cruel I dont know why” Cruel – Tori Amos ***Kyle

7. “I was talking not two days ago to a certain bartender I’m lucky to know I asked Henry my bartending friend if I should go on dating unfamous men & Henry said you’re lucky to even know me you’re lucky to be alive you’re lucky to be drinking here for free cause Im a sucker for your lucky pretty eyes” Polyester Bride – Liz Phair ***ShannonH

8. “I had to escape the city was sticky and cruel maybe I should have called you first but I was dying to get to you I was dreaming while I drove the long straight road ahead could taste your sweet kisses your arms open wide this fever for you is just burning me up inside” I Drove All Night – Cyndi Lauper ***EddieZ

9. “when I was 17, I did what people told me did what my father said, and let my mother mold me but that was long ago I’m in control never gonna stop control to get what I want control I got to have a lot contorl now Im all grown up” Control – Janet Jackson ***EddieZ

10. “girl I’m in love with you this ain’t the honeymoon, we’re past the infatuation phase we’re right in the thick of love at times we get sick of love it seems like we argue everyday I know I misbehave & you’ve made your mistakes & we both still got room left to grow & though love sometimes hurts I still put you first & we’ll make this thing work but I think we should take it slow” Ordinary People – John Legend ***Ryan

11. “its all because of you I’m never sad and blue you’ve brightened up my days in your own special way whenever you’re around I’m never feeling down you are my trusted friend on you I can depend you take me away from the pain & you bring me paradise & when there were cloudy days you brought sunshine in my life it never occurred to me the first time I saw your face I would fall so deep in love that your love cant be replaced” Everything – Mary J. Blige

12. “honey bring it close to my honey bring it close to my lips yes … it’s gotta be big it’s gotta be big I said it’s gotta be big” Professional Widow (Remix) – Tori Amos ***EddieZ

13. “fab 5 Freddy told me everybody’s fly DJ spinnin’ I said my my flash is fast flash is cool francois c’est pas flouchez no deux and you don’t stop sure shot go out to the parkin’ lot and you get in your car and you drive real far” Rapture – Blondie ***EddieZ

14. “last dance last dance for love yes it’s my last change for romance tonight I need you, by me, beside me, to guide me, to hold me, to scold me, cause when I’m bad I’m so, so bad so lets dance, the last dance” Last Dance – Donna Summer ***EddieZ

15. “I took my baby to the doctor with a fever, but nothing he found by the time this hit the street they said she had a breakdown someones always tryin to start my baby cryin talkin, squealin, lyin sayin you just wanna be startin’ somethin”Wanna Be Startin Somethin – Michael Jackson ***26chickys

16. “walking down the street something caught my eye a growing epidemic that really ain’t fly a middle aged lady i gotta be blunt her spandex biker shorts were creepin up the front I could see her uterus her pants were too tight she must’ve owned panties that were not in sight she walked right by the poor woman didn’t know she had a frontal wedgie a cameltoe” Cameltoe – Fannypack ***ShannonH

17. “there’s a place off Ocean Avenue where I used to sit and talk with you we were both 16 and it felt so right sleeping all day, staying up all night staying up all night there’s a place on the corner of Cherry Street we would walk on the beach in our bare feet we were both 18 and it felt so right sleeping all day, staying up all night staying up all night” Ocean Avenue – Yellowcard ***ShannonH

18. “hey your glass is empty it’s a hell of a long way home why dont you let me take you its no good to go alone I never would have opened up but you seemed so real to me after all the bullshit I’ve heard it’s refreshing not to see I don’t have to pretend she doesnt expect it from me don’t tell me I havent been good to you don’t tell me I have never been there for you” Good Enough – Sarah McLachlan ***ShannonH

19. “words like violence break the silence come crashing in into my little world painful to me pierce right through me can’t you understand oh my little girl all I ever wanted all I ever needed is here in my arms” Enjoy The Silence – Depeche Mode ***EddieZ

20. “everywhere I go red carpet gave the keys to valet tell ’em to park it then I jumps out the Azure a Lil’ Kim aura girls making faces like Ace Ventura & my B-A-D G-I-R-L-S is in the stretch LX ain’t shit you can tell us even got some of these ninjas jealous but tonight it’s not about the fellas” No Matter What They Say – Lil’ Kim

