MUSIC MEME

UPDATE 9/15/06: Guessing is closed, a new one is on the way!!

A day early… won’t be around much on Friday, but didn’t want y’all to miss out on the fun!!

The Rules (in case you want to do it too!)
Step 1: Put your iPod/MP3 player or iTunes on random.
Step 2: Post the first line(s) from the first 20 songs that play, no matter how embarrassing the song.
Step 3: Post it on your blog and let everyone guess what song and artist the lines come from.
Step 4: Strike out the songs when someone guesses correctly & post the title in bold after the stricken song.
Step 5: Looking the lyrics up on Google or any other search engine is cheating! Please play nice!
Also, if you know the song – leave your guess in a comment, if you are right, I will post your name (or link if you prefer). Have fun!

The Songs

1. “I never knew I never knew that everything was falling through that everyone I knew was waiting on a queue to turn and run when all I needed was the truth but that’s how it’s got to be it’s coming down to nothing more than apathy I’d rather run the other way than stay & see the smoke & who’s still standing when it clears” Over My Head (Cable Car) – The Fray

2. “baby seem like everywhere I go I see you from your eyes your smile it’s like I breathe you helplessly I reminisce don’t want to compare nobody to you boy I try to catch myself but I’m out of control your sexiness is so appealing I can’t let it go know that I can’t get over you cuz everything I see is you” Deja Vu – Beyonce

3. “in my eyes indisposed in disguise as no 1 knows hides the face lies the snake the sun in my disgrace boiling heat summer stench neath the black the sky looks dead call my name through the cream & I’ll hear you scream again BLACK HOLE SUN won’t you come & wash away the rain” Black Hole Sun – Copeland (Soundgarden Cover)

4. “I just CAN’T GET YOU OUT OF MY HEAD boy your loving is all I think about I just CAN’T GET YOU OUT OF MY HEAD boy its more than I dare to think about I just CAN’T GET YOU OUT OF MY HEAD boy your loving is all I think about I just CAN’T GET YOU OUT OF MY HEAD boy its more than I dare to think about every night every day just to be there in your arms” Can’t Get You Out Of My Head – Kylie Minogue

5. “I haven’t ever really found a place that I call home I never stick around quite long enough to make it I apologize that once again I’m not in love but it’s not as if I mind that your heart ain’t exactly breaking it’s just a thought only a thought but if my LIFE IS FOR RENT & I don’t learn to buy well I deserve nothing more than I get cos nothing I have is truly mine” Life For Rent – Dido

6. “for whatever reason I feel like I’ve been wanting you all my life U don’t understand I’m so glad we’re at the same place at the same time it’s over now I spotted U dancin’ U made all the girls stare those lips & your brown eyes & the sexy hair I should shake my thang make the world want U tell your boys you’ll be back I wanna see what U can do” Boys – Britney Spears

7. “do you eat sleep do you breathe me anymore do you sleep do you count sheep anymore do you sleep anymore do you take plight on my tongue like lead do you fall gracefully into bed anymore I saw you as you walked across my room you looked out the window you looked at the moon” Do You Sleep – Lisa Loeb ***Shanty

8. “you ain’t got no kind of feeling inside I got something that will sure ’nuff set your stuff on fire you refuse to put anything before your pride I got something that will knock all your pride aside TELL ME SOMETHING GOOD tell me that you love me TELL ME SOMETHING GOOD tell me that you like it yeah” Tell Me SOmething Good – Chaka Khan

9. “dear momma’s boy I know you’ve had your butt licked by your mother I know you’ve enjoyed all that attention from her & every woman graced with your presence after dear narcissus boy I know you’ve never really apologized for anything I know you’ve never really taken responsibility” Narcissus – Alanis Morissette ***Phillip

10. “I never asked for this or planned it in advance I was merely blown here by the winds of chance I never saw myself as a Solomon or Socrates I knew who I was: 1 of your dime a dozen mediocrities then suddenly I’m here respected – worshipped even just because the folks in Oz needed someone to believe in” Wonderful – Wicked OBCR  ***EddieZ

11. “back on the road again feeling kinda lonely & looking for the right guy to be mine friends say I’m crazy cause easily I fall in love you gotta do it different J this time maybe well meet at a bar he’ll drive a funky car maybe well meet at a club & fall so deeply in love he’ll tell me I’m the 1 & well have so much fun” Someone to Call My Lover – Janet Jackson ***Phillip

12. “while you are away my heart comes undone slowly songtitle in a ball of yarn the devil collects it with a grin our love in a ball of yarn he’ll never return it so when you come back we’ll have to make new love he’ll never return it when you come back we’ll have to make new love” Unravel – Bjork

13. “no 1 looked as I walked by just an invitation would have been just fine said no to him again & again first he took my heart then he ran no 1 knows how I feel what I say unless you read between my lines 1 man walked away from me first he took my hand take me home STAND BACK STAND BACK in the middle of my room I did not hear from you” Stand Back – Linus Love (Stevie Nicks cover)

14. “bring it back SING IT BACK bring it back SING IT BACK to me when you are ready I will surrender take me and do as you will have what you want you’re ways always the best way I have succumbed to this passive sensation peacefully falling away I am the zombie your wish will command me laugh as I fall to my knees” Sing It Back – Moloko

15. “a Bouvier till her wedding day shots rang out the police came mama layed me on the front lawn & prayed for Jackie’s strength feeling old by 21 never thought my day would come my bridesmaids getting laid I pray for Jackie’s strength make me laugh say you know what you want” Jackie’s Strength – Tori Amos ***Shanty

16. “if I take you from behind push myself into your mind when you least expect it will you try & reject it if I’m in charge & I treat you like a child will you let yourself go wild let my mouth go where it wants to give it up do as I say give it up & let me have my way I’ll give you love I’ll hit you like a truck” Erotica – Madonna  ***EddieZ

17. “the waves keep on crashing on me for some reason but your love keeps on coming like a thunderbolt come here a little closer cause I wanna see you, baby, real close up youve got me feeling HELLA GOOD so lets just keep on dancing you hold me like you should so I’m gonna keep on dancing” Hella Good – No Doubt

18. “I come home in the morning light my mother says when you gonna live your life right oh mother dear were not the fortunate 1’s & girls just wanna have fun oh girls they want to have fun the phone rings in the middle of the night my father yells what you gonna do with your life oh daddy dear you know youre still number 1 but girls just wanna have fun oh girls they want to have fun” Girls Just Wanna Have Fun – Cyndi Lauper  ***EddieZ

19. “whenever i’m alone with you you make me feel like i am home again whenever i’m alone with you you make me feel like i am whole again whenever i’m alone with you you make me feel like i am young again whenever i’m alone with you you make me feel like i am fun again” Lovesong – The Cure ***Shanty

20. “listen as the wind blows from across the great divide voices trapped in yearning memories trapped in time the night is my companion & solitude my guide would I spend forever here & not be satisfied & I would be the one to hold you down kiss you so hard I’ll take your breath away” Possession – Sarah McLachlan ***Phillip

