MUSIC MEME

Update 9/7/06: Guessing is closed and a new one is on the way!!

The Rules (in case you want to do it too!)
Step 1: Put your iPod/MP3 player or iTunes on random.
Step 2: Post the first line(s) from the first 20 songs that play, no matter how embarrassing the song.
Step 3: Post it on your blog and let everyone guess what song and artist the lines come from.
Step 4: Strike out the songs when someone guesses correctly & post the title in bold after the stricken song.
Step 5: Looking the lyrics up on Google or any other search engine is cheating! Please play nice!
Also, if you know the song – leave your guess in a comment, if you are right, I will post your name (or link if you prefer). Have fun!

The Songs

1. “how can I explain when there are few words I can choose how can I explain when words get broken do you remember there was a time when people on the street were walking hand in hand in hand they used to talk about the weather making plans together days would last forever” Chains of Love – Erasure  ***EddieZ

2. “I want you to remember first kiss you ever had when our lips met together I knew that was that I’m still standing keeping you dancing yeah you know you want it I’m still going making the party blow the way you like it do you wanna hear me sing pop cause I don’t think I wanna stop & I love it when my beats drop”Still Standing – Kylie Minogue

3. “every single day I walk down the street I hear people say baby’s so sweet ever since puberty everybody stares at me boys girls I can’t help it baby so be kind & don’t lose your mind just remember that I’m your baby take me for what I am who I was meant to be & if you give a damn” Take Me Or Leave Me – RENT OBCR ***ShannonH

4. “weren’t you the one who said that you don’t want me anymore & how you need the space & give the keys back to your door & how I cried & tried & tried to make you stay with me & still you said the love the was gone & that I had to leave” Karma – Alicia Keys ***Ryan

5. “we live on a mountain right at the top there’s a beautiful view from the top of the mountain every morning I walk towards the edge & throw little things off like car-parts bottles & cutlery or whatever I find lying around it’s become a habit a way to start the day” Hyper-ballad – Bjork ***ShannonH

6. “everybody wants me to be their angel everybody wants something they can cradle they don’t know I burn maybe there’s a devil inside maybe there’s a devil inside of me maybe there’s a devil somewhere really deep inside me devil inside of me jealous angel deep inside me” Devil Inside – Utada

7. “sometimes somebody can bring you down so far below anywhere you’ve gone sometimes somebody can bring you down so far below anywhere you know so much so fast feels like you can’t take the pain but remember there’s no going back something’s so broken down busted & underground but here’s your chance to surrender thanks to you” Nervous Breakthrough – Luscious Jackson ***ShannonH

8. “And you know you’re gonna lie to you in your own way & you know you’re gonna lie to you in your own way & I lie some other day you do & you say girl know too well know the chill know she breaks my siren know teenage flesh know the chill know she breaks” Siren – Tori Amos (can’t believe Shanty missed this one!!)

9. “I heard that you were talking shit & you didn’t think that I would hear it people hear you talking like that getting everybody fired up so I’m ready to attack gonna lead the pack gonna get a touchdown gonna take you out that’s right put your pom-poms down getting everybody fired up” Hollaback Girl – Gwen Stefani ***ShannonH

10. “it’s a little bit funny this feeling inside I’m not one of those who can easily hide I dont have much money but boy if I did I’d buy a big house where we both could live if I was a sculptor but then again no or a man who makes potions in a traveling show I know its not much but its the best I can do” Your Song – Elton John ***ShannonH

11. “come on shake your body baby do the conga I know you can’t control yourself any longer feel the rhythm of the music getting stronger don’t you fight it til you tried it do that conga beat everbody gather round now let your body feel the heat don’t you worry if you cant dance let the music move your feet” Conga – Miami Sound Machine  ***EddieZ

12. “songtitle so don’t forget it it’s just a silly phase i’m going through & just because I call you up don’t get me wrong don’t think you’ve got it made songtitle no no it’s because… I like to see you but then again that doesn’t mean you mean that much to me”

13. “I got the magic stick I know if I can hit once I can hit twice I hit the baddest chicks shorty don’t believe me then come with me tonight & I’ll show you magic stick what what magic stick I got the magic stick I’m a freak to the core get a dose once you gon’ want some more my tongue touch ya girl ya toes bound to curl this exclusive shit I don’t share with the world I have you up early in the mornin moanin” The Magic Stick – Lil’ Kim & 50 Cent

14. “it doesn’t mean much it doesn’t mean anything at all the life I’ve left behind me is a cold room I’ve crossed the last line from where I can’t return where every step I took in faith betrayed me & led me from my home” Sweet Surrender – Sarah McLachlan ***ShannonH

15. “when I was very young nothing really mattered to me but making myself happy I was the only one now that I am grown everythings changed I’ll never be the same because of you nothing really matters love is all we need everything I give you all comes back to me” Nothing Really Matters – Madonna ***ShannonH

16. “I backed my car into a cop car the other day well he just drove off sometimes life’s ok I ran my mouth off a bit too much oh what can i say well you just laughed it off it was all ok & we’ll all float on ok” Float On – Modest Mouse

17. “you can’t afford no ring you can’t afford no ring I shouldn’t be wearing white and you can’t afford no ring you finally took my hand you finally took my hand it took a nip of gin but you finally took my hand”  White Trash Wedding – Dixie Chicks  ***Phillip

18. “I don’t believe you know me although you know my name I don’t believe the faults I have are only mine to blame I don’t believe that magic is only in my mind I don’t believe I’d love somebody just to pass the time” I Believe In You – Kylie Minogue ***Ryan

19. “you are subtle as a window pane standing in my view but I will wait for it to rain so that I can see you you call me up at night when theres no light passing through & you think that I dont understand but I do” Anticipate – Ani DiFranco ***ShannonH

20. “oh when you walk by every night talking sweet and looking fine I get kinda hectic inside baby I’m so into you darling if you only knew all the things that flow through my mind but it’s just a sweet sweet fantasy baby when i close my eyes you come and you take me” Fantasy – Mariah Carey ***Ryan

