MUSIC MEME
UPDATE 8/18/2006: This week closed, new one on the way!

The Rules (in case you want to do it too!)
Step 1: Put your iPod/MP3 player or iTunes on random.
Step 2: Post the first line(s) from the first 20 songs that play, no matter how embarrassing the song.
Step 3: Post it on your blog and let everyone guess what song and artist the lines come from.
Step 4: Strike out the songs when someone guesses correctly & post the title in bold after the stricken song.
Step 5: Looking the lyrics up on Google or any other search engine is cheating! Please play nice!
Also, if you know the song – leave your guess in a comment, if you are right, I will post your name (or link if you prefer). Have fun!

The Songs
1. “I heard the sound of your bike as your wheels hit the gravel and your engine in the driveway cutting off I pushed through the screen door and I stood out on the porch thinking fight fight fight at all costs” Gravel – Ani DiFranco ****ShannonH

2. “oh been trying to let it go trying to keep my eyes closed trying to keep it just like before the times we never even thought to speak don’t wanna tell you what it is oh wee it felt so serious got me thinking just too much I wanna set it off but…”One Thing – Amerie

3. “lying in my bed I hear the clock tick and think of you caught up in circles confusion is nothing new flashback warm nights almost left behind suitcases of memories” Time After Time – Cyndi Lauper ****ShannonH

4. “you leave in the morning with everything you own in a little black case alone on a platform the wind and the rain on a sad & lonely face mother will never understand why you had to leave but the answers you seek will never be found at home the love that you need will never be found at home run away turn away run away” Smalltown Boy – Bronski Beat

5. “ooh I put it right there made it easy for you to get to now you wanna act like you don’t know what to do after I done everything that you asked me grabbed you grind you liked you tried you moved so fast baby now i can’t find you” Lose My Breath – Destiny’s Child ****ShannonH

6. “take this pink ribbon off my eyes I’m exposed & its no big surprise don’t you think I know exactly where I stand this world is forcing me to hold your hand” Just A Girl – No Doubt ****ShannonH

7. “I woke up and called this morning the tone of your voice was a warning that you dont care for me anymore I made up the bed we sleep in I looked at the clock when you creep in it’s 6 a.m. and I’m alone did you know when you go it’s the perfect ending” My Favorite Mistake – Sheryl Crow ****ShannonH

8. “songtitle is the greatest day I’ve ever known can’t live for tomorrow tomorrows much too long I burn my eyes out before I get out I wanted more than life could ever grant bored by the chore of saving face”

9. “she gave you everything she had but she was young and dumb she just turned 21 she didn’t care to hang around so when the shit came down well she was nowhere to be found this life can turn a good girl bad she was the sweetest thing that you had ever seen you’re such a delicate boy in the hysterical realm of an emotional landslide in physical terms” Cherry Lips (Go Baby Go) – Garbage

10. “say you wont leave me no more I’ll take you back again no more excuses no no cos I’ve heard them all before a 100 times or more I’ll forgive & forget if you say you’ll never go cos its true what they say its better the devil you know” Better The Devil You Know – Kylie Minogue ****Roo UK

11. “when you were languishing in rooms I built to foul you in & when the wind set down in funnel form and pulled you in I don’t need to walk around in circles walk around in circles” Circles – Soul Coughing

12. “shine your light now this time its gotta be good you get it right now cause you’re in hollywood there’s something in the air in hollywood the sun is shining like you knew it would” Hollywood – Madonna ****Roo UK

13. “from in the shadow she calls and in the shadow she finds a way finds a way and in the shadow she crawls clutching her faded photograph my image under her thumb yes with a message for my heart yes with a message for my heart” Girl – Tori Amos ****ShannonH

14. “I kinda notice from one eye in the club your frown face it’s kinda weird to me since you’re so fine if it’s up to me your face’ll change if you smile then that should set the tone just be limber & if you let go the music should move your bones just remember sing this song with me” Like I Love You – Justin Timberlake ****Roo UK

15. “all the old paintings on the tombs they do the sand dance dont you know if they move too quick (oh whey oh) they’re falling down like a domino all the bazaar men by the nile they got the money on a bet gold crocodiles (oh whey oh) they snap their teeth on your cigarette” Walk Like An Egyptian – Bangles ****ShannonH

16. “I’m not waitin’ around for a man to save me cos I’m happy where I am don’t depend on a guy to validate me I don’t need to be anyone’s baby is that so hard to understand no I don’t need another half to make me whole make your move if you want doesn’t mean I will or won’t” Single – Natasha Bedingfield ****ShannonH

17. “forgive, sounds good forget I’m not sure I could they say time heals everything but I’m still waiting I’m through with doubt there’s nothing left for me to figure out I’ve paid a price & I’ll keep paying” Not Ready To Make Nice – Dixie Chicks ****ShannonH

18. “looking back on when I was a little nappy headed boy then my only worry was for christmas what would be my toy even though we sometimes would not get a thing we were happy with the joy the day would bring” I Wish – Stevie Wonder

19. “good news she’s dead the Witch of the West is dead the wickedest witch there ever was the enemy of all of us here in Oz is dead good news good news look it’s Glinda” No One Mourns The Wicked – Wicked OBCR :EddieZ:

20. “I can sense it something important is about to happen it’s coming up it takes courage to enjoy it the hardcore and the gentle” Big Time Sensuality – Bjork ****ShannonH

