Let me say this first. I Love Christmas. I love giving gifts, I love shopping, I love wrapping. And I love Christmas albums. Further evidence that I am a big dork. So I was kind of surprised to learn about a new Christmas CD hitting the shops this October.
sarah-mclachlan.jpg
Sarah McLachlan is set to release “Wintersong” on October 17th. Sraha was one of my favorite artists in the high school years, and I still adore her voice and her music. It’s also a little shocking to think that one of my favorite Rock chicks is releasing a Christmas album. A song here and there is one thing, but a whole album still has that whole… washed up vibe to it. Look at Whitney Houston. However, the song choices are really good, and though 2 songs included are previously released, I’m still eager to hear it. I’m especially excited to hear her version of Joni Mitchell’s “River” which is sort of an un-Christmas song. The tracklisting goes:

Happy Xmas (War Is Over) – What Child Is This (Greensleeves) – River – Wintersong – I’ll Be Home for Christmas – O Little Town of Bethlehem – The First Noel/Mary Mary – Silent Night – Song for a Winter’s Night – Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas – In a Bleak Mid Winter – Christmas Time Is Here

Also, Jim Creegan from the Barenaked Ladies collaborated on a bunch of the tracks, so that also has me excited. BNL turned out a fantastic Holiday album (though also surprising in the same way), that Sarah also guested on. So hopefully, this will be another solid Christmas CD that can join my other 2 favorites, “Barenaked for the Holidays” and RuPaul’s “Ho Ho Ho”. Merry Christmas!! (hella early!)

