Music Meme

UPDATE 7/24/06 I added some more lyrics to the one’s no ones guessed yet… We’ll see if that finishes this one up!

UPDATE 7/28/06 Closed out… new one on the way

The Rules (in case you want to do it too!)

Step 1: Put your iPod/MP3 player or iTunes on random.
Step 2: Post the first line(s) from the first 20 songs that play, no matter how embarrassing the song.
Step 3: Post it on your blog and let everyone guess what song and artist the lines come from.
Step 4: Strike out the songs when someone guesses correctly & post the title in bold after the stricken song.
Step 5: Looking the lyrics up on Google or any other search engine is cheating! Please play nice!

Also, if you know the song – leave your guess in a comment, if you are right, I will post your name (or link if you prefer). Have fun!

The Songs

1. “well this car is automatic it’s systematic it’s hydromatic” Grease Lightning – John Travolta :ShannonH:

2. “feeling unknown & you’re all alone flesh & bone by the telephone lift up the receiver I’ll make you a believer” Personal Jesus – Depeche Mode :ShannonH:

3. “her name was Lola she was a showgirl with yellow feathers in her hair & a dress cut down to there” Copacabana – Barry Manilow :ShannonH:

4. “now it seems to me that you know just what to say but words are only words can you show me something else?” Lonely No More – Rob Thomas :ShannonH:

5. “just before our love got lost you said I am as constant as a northern star & I said, constant in the darkness where’s that at if you want me I’ll be in the bar” A Case of You – Tori Amos (Joni Mitchell cover) :ShannonH:

6. “there’s a calm surrender to the rush of day when the heat of a rolling wind can be turned away an enchanted moment, and it sees me through it’s enough for this restless warrior just to be with you” Can You Feel The Love Tonight – Elton John :HouseBitch:

7. “did you really think that I would really take you back let you back in my heart one more time oh no no did you think that I still care that there be more feeling there did you think you could walk back in my life so you found you miss the love you threw away baby but you found it out too late so now you know the way it feels to cry” I Learned From the Best – Whitney Houston

8. “where did we go wrong where did we lose our faith my brother is in need but can he depend on me do you think if one of you tried maybe you could find a better friend than any other if you gave more than you took life could be so good come on & try now’s the time” Free – Ultra Nate

9. “what an amazing time what a family how did the years go by now it’s only me tic toc tic toc tic toc tic toc like a cat in heat stuck in a moving car a scary conversation shut my eyes can’t find the brake” What You Waiting For – Gwen Stefani

10. “the trouble with schools is they all try & teach the wrong lessons believe me I’ve been kicked out enough of them to now” Dancing Through Life – Wicked OBCR :EddieZ:

11. “heaven bend to take my hand lead me through the fire be the long awaited answer to a long & painful fight” Fallen – Sarah McLachlan :ShannonH:

12. “down down down in your heart find find find the secret turn turn turn your head around baby we can do it we can do it all right” Get Together – Madonna :EddieZ:

13. “down to the disco everything stops walkin’ in solo everyone drops hey summer madness totally cool my heart starts racing when I see you ooh ooh ooooh oohhh” Burning Up – Kylie Minogue

14. “I heard she mad rich I heard she dead broke I heard she sniffin’ coke” Shut Up Bitch – Lil’ Kim :ShannonH:

15. “thought that I was goin’ crazy just having one of those days didn’t know what to do then there was you & everything went from wrong to right & the stars came out and filled up the sky the music you were playing really blew my mind” Love At First Sight

16. “busted flat in Baton Rouge waiting for a train & is feelin nearly as faded as my jeans Bobby thumbed a diesel down just before it rained it rode us all the way in to New Orleans” Me & My Bobby McGee – Janis Joplin :EddieZ:

17. “me with the floorshow kickin with your torso boys getting high & the girls even more so wave your hands if your not with the man can I kick it (yes you can)” Rock DJ – Robbie Williams :ShannonH:

18. “you were my sun you were my earth but you didnt know all the ways I loved you no so you took a chance & made other plans but I bet you didnt think your thing would come crashing down no you don’t have to say what you did I already know I found out from him now theres just no chance for you & me there’ll never be & don’t it make you sad about it” Cry Me A River – Justin Timberlake

19. “seems like just yesterday you were a part of me I used to stand so tall I used to be so strong your arms around me tight everything it felt so right unbreakable like nothin’ could go wrong” Behind These Hazel Eyes – Kelly Clarkson :ShannonH:

20. “you are my fire the one desire believe when I say” I Want It That Way – Dynamite Boy (Backstreet Boys Cover) :ShannonH:

